The final period of Game 5 was met with plenty of controversy.
First, there was a goal that looked to be over the line that didn’t count and then there was a non-call on a possible penalty that gave St. Louis a 2-0 lead.
In the first incident, upon video review of a shot, it certainly appeared David Pastrnak pushed the puck over the line past Blues goalie Jordan Binnington with 13 minutes left in the third period.
— Thomas Lott (@tlott33) June 7, 2019
But the play was ruled as already being dead due to a whistle being blown.
But, in real time, it’s very hard to tell which came first, the puck crossing the line, or the whistle.
Minutes later, the Blues got a goal moments after what appeared to be a trip by Tyler Bozak on Noel Acciari.
On the play in question, it even appeared Bozak thought he was going to be called for a penalty.
It may have been because he was complaining about the possibility of a flop, but he certainly stopped what he was doing after Acciari fell to the ice.
— Lucas 🔁 Luke (@LucasOrLukeIDC) June 7, 2019
But, the Blues got the puck and eventually put it in the back of the net to go up 2-0.
It was not a great five minutes for Boston in Game 5.